Go Back   Chargeback Forum > Sellers / Merchants > Trend Watcher
FREE Member Registration Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Trend Watcher Talk about ongoing trends in fraud.

Reporting Fraud or a Scam? If you are reporting fraud or a scam, please be sure to include all relevant details including names, contact information of the other entity, website information and all related details to better assist in alerting fellow members.

Attention: If you have received an email you believe may be fraudulent, please send the complete email and headers to fraudwatch@chargebackforum.com immediately.

Welcome to the Chargeback Forum! You are viewing this site as a guest. You are welcome to continue browsing the Chargeback Forum as a guest or register and take part in these in incredible benefits:

  • Participate in the largest internet community dedicated to helping merchants prevent fraud.
  • Communicate freely with leading industry experts.
  • Access numerous free tools and resources for your online business.

All this and much more is available absolutely free when you register, so sign up today! If you have any problems with the registration process or accessing your account, please contact support.

Having a problem with chargebacks or fraud and need immediate assistance? Contact us directly by calling (718) 841-7027 and ask to speak to a chargeback specialist.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-04-2007   #1 (permalink)
Kaets
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 30
Rep Power: 0 Kaets is on a distinguished road
Default Email Fraud

I have been noticing a lot more lately that in my mail account that I get emails from eBay, Paypal, and even Bank of America (I don't even have an account there). They say that I need to login in with my username and password and update my information. When I start to click the link to log in, I see on the bottom that it takes me to a domain that is not ebay, paypal, or even bankofamerica, but it is disguised like it such as paypal.com.(random word).com. ALWAYS KEEP A LOOKOUT FOR THIS. It could cost you lots.
Kaets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2007   #2 (permalink)
drpepper
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Rep Power: 0 drpepper is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to drpepper Send a message via Yahoo to drpepper Send a message via Skype™ to drpepper
Default

i have the same problem. i received those kind of emails too and i was so frightened because i have accounts with ebay and paypal. like in ebay it says there i have to claim the item but i have to log in..we have to be careful next time
__________________
"Quality is never an accident; it is always the result of high intention. sincere effort, intelligent direction and skillful execution; it represents the wise choice of many alternatives
drpepper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2007   #3 (permalink)
biggerboy
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 33
Rep Power: 0 biggerboy is on a distinguished road
Default

I always get fake paypal e-mails to my main e-mail address, which I don't even have a paypal account on. I always make sure I check the links before I click on them, has always helped me.
biggerboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2007   #4 (permalink)
joecool6101
Senior Member
 
joecool6101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: On, Canada
Posts: 250
Rep Power: 2 joecool6101 is on a distinguished road
Default

Ok. Excellent tip for you guys.. when you get these emails.. forward ebay ones to spoof@ebay.com and for paypal i cant remember the email address but you can also forward it to them to stop the people that send them out..

Also NEVER click the links that they give in the emails always just type in ebay.ca or paypal.com in your browser instead of using the links.. to keep you secure.
joecool6101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2007   #5 (permalink)
sweeper
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 29
Rep Power: 0 sweeper is on a distinguished road
Default

It is a phishing expedition. It is good that you keep a close watch on the links provided to you. There are tools mentioned in this forum to help you spot these phishing attempts aside from your manual way. The tools are netcraft and spoofstick.
__________________
Charge me!
sweeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2007   #6 (permalink)
cassyjr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 17
Rep Power: 0 cassyjr is on a distinguished road
Default

i never log into these account if you think it may be correct i go to their homepage and log in from there, then if they have sent me an email there is normaly a sign saying account needs action
cassyjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2007   #7 (permalink)
LeeAnn
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 22
Rep Power: 0 LeeAnn is on a distinguished road
Default paypal spoof address

spoof@paypal.com is the one I use to report paypal spoofs. So far I've received their "thank you, here's your confirmation and what to do if you clicked on the link," message every time. I assume the address is still correct.

Quote:
Originally Posted by joecool6101 View Post
Ok. Excellent tip for you guys.. when you get these emails.. forward ebay ones to spoof@ebay.com and for paypal i cant remember the email address but you can also forward it to them to stop the people that send them out..

Also NEVER click the links that they give in the emails always just type in ebay.ca or paypal.com in your browser instead of using the links.. to keep you secure.
LeeAnn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2007   #8 (permalink)
sood123
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 274
Rep Power: 2 sood123 is on a distinguished road
Default

the addresses they have in those mails are identical but not the same as the ones used by paypal. DONT OPEN THEM even if you do then try not to give any information.
sood123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007   #9 (permalink)
aspire
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 106
Rep Power: 2 aspire is on a distinguished road
Default

This is exactly what we mean by phishing. All of such kind of mails always lead you to some kind of phony sites with similar spellings of well known sites. Beware !
aspire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How Many Email Addresses Do you Have? sfod_d223 General Discussions 24 10-25-2007 04:44 AM
Unknown Email dasha101 Fraud? 11 06-22-2007 09:39 AM
Email processing programs? chrissie1101 Fraud? 7 06-11-2007 10:08 AM
Paypal hacks! email smilemaker PayPal 11 05-28-2007 02:56 PM
Verizon Email njoker555 Fraudulent Website Alerts 6 04-25-2007 07:01 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:55 AM.

Add to Google Reader or Homepage    Add to My AOL  Add to Pageflakes  Add to netvibes  Subscribe in NewsGator Online Add to The Free Dictionary

Resources Affiliate Networks, Corporate Services, Web Design Firms, Merchant Talk, Public Relations Agencies, Virtual Web Hosting, Virus Protection

Chargeback Forum is a service of preCharge Risk Management Solutions, in association with ChargebackFile.
If you need assistance or are having a problem with chargebacks or fraud, please call (718) 841-7027 or email support@precharge.com for support.
All names, brands and service marks are properties of their respective owners.

Powered by vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0 RC8
© 2007. Chargeback Forum. All Rights Reserved.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52