preCharge Certified Payments
 

Go Back   Chargeback Forum > Sellers / Merchants > Trend Watcher

Notices

Trend Watcher Talk about ongoing trends in fraud.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-17-2007   #11 (permalink)
tommy
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 55
Rep Power: 2 tommy is on a distinguished road
Default

We should always try to log into our account through our browsers.
Type the link yourself and avoid following links found in mails.
I hate scams...
tommy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2007   #12 (permalink)
reachkannan2003
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 75
Rep Power: 0 reachkannan2003 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

hi guys,
here is the true story...
The police are warning of a new online banking scam targeting New Zealanders and Australians. The scam uses two websites, each claiming to represent a financial services firm that has partnerships with banks, including ANZ, Westpac, ASB Bank, National Bank of New Zealand and the Bank of New Zealand. The banks deny any association with the company and investigations by the police's e-Crime unit in New Zealand showed that the scam was being run from Denmark.

The website devancy.com: The Leading Genealogy Site on the Net, is aimed at New Zealanders, while search is tailored to Australians. Visitors to the websites are asked to accept a $10,000 deposit into their bank account before being told to forward the amount on to a third party, minus a $500 transaction fee earned for forwarding the money.
reachkannan2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2007   #13 (permalink)
Shady
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 19
Rep Power: 0 Shady is on a distinguished road
Default

Its amazing the amount of effort these thieves will go to in order to fool you out of your money. With the amount of time and effort that goes into creating these "Spoof" websites the thieves could have probabaly created there own profitable and orignal website lol
Shady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2007   #14 (permalink)
chandni_aqua
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 119
Rep Power: 2 chandni_aqua is on a distinguished road
Default

This is so bad... I mean sites like Paypal or other money paying sites should never be copied
chandni_aqua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2007   #15 (permalink)
frank
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 14
Rep Power: 0 frank is on a distinguished road
Default

guys these frauds keep coming until we have online transaction.. we can't stop them..

So, I advise people to ignore emails they get from places like eBay or their bank. If you think its a real message, open your browser and type in the URL of the place that emailed you manually, then check your 'message center' on that site to see if they really did contact you.
frank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2007   #16 (permalink)
Jerlene
Senior Member
 
Jerlene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,322
Rep Power: 3 Jerlene is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to Jerlene Send a message via MSN to Jerlene Send a message via Yahoo to Jerlene
Default

OP, could you provide a link?
Jerlene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2007   #17 (permalink)
scamout
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 17
Rep Power: 0 scamout is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike View Post
Hi,
Recently I was hit with many emails on some email address which I need added for eBay or Paypal accounts. The email contained an complete clone of eBay with a fake url to login. I knew it was fake but I thought of having a look on the sites. .. The fake site looked completely like the original site without https:// remember to check the mails carefully and look over the security certificate too.
A good tip off would be the fact that the address of "paypal-paymant" is spelled wrong. Then too, the originating IP is in Canada.

The link is now dead.

PayPal phishing emails should be reported to spoof@paypal.com. You'd be surprised at how fast they can shut down the phishing site!

All phishing emails can be sent to reportphishing@antiphishing.org

Expand the headers and FORWARD the email to both addresses.
__________________
Tom Mahoney
Director, Merchant911
Developer, Preventing E-Commerce Chargebacks

http://www.merchant911.org
http://www.preventchargebacks.com
scamout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2007   #18 (permalink)
scamout
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 17
Rep Power: 0 scamout is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shady View Post
Its amazing the amount of effort these thieves will go to in order to fool you out of your money. With the amount of time and effort that goes into creating these "Spoof" websites the thieves could have probabaly created there own profitable and orignal website lol
Are you kidding? There's free software out there that will pull down the code for an entire site in a matter of minutes. Duplicating a couple of pages is trivial. All they need to do is change the single line of code that points to the CGI form handler. The bigger problem they face is sending out the spam to thousands of email addresses.
__________________
Tom Mahoney
Director, Merchant911
Developer, Preventing E-Commerce Chargebacks

http://www.merchant911.org
http://www.preventchargebacks.com
scamout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2007   #19 (permalink)
alex
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: New York City, New York
Posts: 43
Rep Power: 0 alex is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to alex
Default

You can also report fraudulent emails to chargebackforum.com

Simply send them to report@chargebackforum.com - please be sure to include the full headers.

You can also submit them on http://www.chargebackforum.com/phishing-alerts-news/

The full headers are important because they allow people monitoring chargebackforum to find the source of the emails.
__________________
Alex Corral
preCharge Risk Management Solutions
http://www.precharge.com/
alex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2007   #20 (permalink)
Dakuipje
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 57
Rep Power: 2 Dakuipje is on a distinguished road
Default

You should always be careful for these scams.
They can really bring your mail down by selling your email address to large spamming companies. Or even worse record your password to login on your eBay account.
Dakuipje is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best forum hosting website swapnil90 Development 5 03-16-2007 09:55 AM

 
Problem with chargebacks? Call +1 (212) 751-6213 and ask to speak to a chargeback specialist.

Join us on LinkedIn


News, Updates, Alerts & More:

Subscribe in a reader
 
 


1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52