vbSEO - vBulletin Optimization
 

Go Back   Chargeback Forum > Buyers / Consumers > Fraudulent Website Alerts > Phishing Alerts & News

Phishing Alerts & News Keep up to date on the latest in phishing attacks.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-18-2007, 09:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Jerlene
Senior Member
 
Jerlene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,501
Rep Power: 5 Jerlene is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to Jerlene Send a message via MSN to Jerlene Send a message via Yahoo to Jerlene
Default Important : Security Alert On Your Paypal Account !!!

Here is yet another email I got from someone claiming to be PayPal. I'm going to point out the obvious reasons this is fake.

-----------------------------------------------------------



-----------------------------------------------------------

Blue - PayPal spells their name "PayPal", not "Paypal".
Green - They don't send these types of emails out with the email address "@email.paypal.com"
Red - PayPal and emails from PayPal are secure. All of the addresses should start with "https"(some starts with "http"). ALL emails should be under the PayPal domain, nowhere else.
Jerlene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2007, 09:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Jerlene
Senior Member
 
Jerlene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,501
Rep Power: 5 Jerlene is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to Jerlene Send a message via MSN to Jerlene Send a message via Yahoo to Jerlene
Default

Oh forgot. The title of this thread was the title of the email.
PayPal is a business, a professional one.
They would not use so many exclamation points, ever.
Jerlene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2007, 09:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Jerlene
Senior Member
 
Jerlene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,501
Rep Power: 5 Jerlene is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to Jerlene Send a message via MSN to Jerlene Send a message via Yahoo to Jerlene
Default

Another way to spot a fake is to look at the copyright at the bottom of the email. It's usually just:
Quote:
Copyright © 1999-2007 PayPal. All rights reserved.
but PayPal will put their copyright and business address, like this:
Quote:
Copyright © 1999-2007 PayPal. All rights reserved.
Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners.
PayPal is located at 2211 N. First St., San Jose, CA 95131
Jerlene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2008, 10:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
bajuhitam
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 8
Rep Power: 0 bajuhitam is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks for sharing with us. I know many people take advantages about this issue. Even many people buy new domain just because want to steal others people account. I hope they will never did that. If i know my friends do that too me. I know what i want to do with him.
__________________
See my travel at Kinabalu
bajuhitam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2008, 11:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
danish
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 13
Rep Power: 0 danish is on a distinguished road
Default

We should avoid this phising. I never got the email like this for paypal but got with my egold account. Someone has hack my account and get all the amount there.
danish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2008, 10:02 AM   #6 (permalink)
DayDreamer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 9
Rep Power: 0 DayDreamer is on a distinguished road
Default

i too received a similar mail but i recognized it too and just sent back a mail to phisher saying that i was not fool and sick like him!!
some phishers make silly mistakes that anyone can easily recognize. lol.
DayDreamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2008, 03:48 AM   #7 (permalink)
willyoumind
Senior Member
 
willyoumind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 287
Rep Power: 3 willyoumind is on a distinguished road
Default

Sometimes, the Paypal phising emails do make me pissed off...

Each day, I will at least find a paypal phising email at my spam/bulk mail, and the ridiculous thing is some of them even wrote in the Spanish, French or even Chinese languages...lol
willyoumind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2008, 02:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Jerlene
Senior Member
 
Jerlene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,501
Rep Power: 5 Jerlene is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to Jerlene Send a message via MSN to Jerlene Send a message via Yahoo to Jerlene
Default

The amount of PayPal phishing attempts I get has definitely decreased somehow.
Jerlene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 03:07 AM   #9 (permalink)
shadow12345
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 25
Rep Power: 0 shadow12345 is on a distinguished road
Default

Thank you for sharing, it's hard to realize such a scam like this one. However, the address in red does say it all
shadow12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 02:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
bowman
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 49
Rep Power: 0 bowman is on a distinguished road
Default

I am not able to see the difference between the original and duplicate. Please elaborate.
bowman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fraud Alert: Important Notice from PayPal Resolution Center fraud-report Phishing Alerts & News 4 12-08-2008 02:43 PM
Fraud Alert: Important Notice: Your Amazon.com Order (#002-4082816-7275366) fraud-report Phishing Alerts & News 0 04-12-2007 04:27 AM
Fraud Alert: Important Notice: # 002-5560659-6254446 fraud-report Phishing Alerts & News 0 04-10-2007 03:16 AM
Fraud Alert: Regarding Your Paypal Account chargebacks Phishing Alerts & News 1 03-19-2007 10:57 PM
Fraud Site Alert: Military Bank Online Security Alert ref:id#78516117 chargebacks Phishing Alerts & News 1 03-03-2007 11:17 AM

 
Problem with chargebacks? Call +1 (212) 751-6213 and ask to speak to a chargeback specialist.

Join us on LinkedIn


News, Updates, Alerts & More:

Subscribe in a reader
   


1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52