Usually, people get phishing attempts from people claiming to be PayPal.
I just got my very first phishing attempt from someone claiming to be E-Gold!
Here's the email I got:
Quote:
Security Measures
Dear, jerlene@hotmail.co.uk, We have reason to believe that your account was accessed by a third party. Because protecting the security of your account is our primary concern, we have limited access to sensitive E-gold account features. We understand that this may be an inconvenience but please understand that this temporary limitation is for your protection.
How can I restore my account access?
Click the link below and confirm your E-gold account information, otherwise your E-gold account will remain restricted: http://www.e-gold.com/acct/login.html
Thank you for your prompt attention to this matter. Please understand that this is a security measure meant to help protect you and your account. We apologize for any inconvenience.
2008 E-gold All rights reserved.
|
The bold is where I found out it was a fraudulent email.
The title of the email told me the account was getting suspended because I haven't used it in a long time, it had nothing to do with someone trying to break into my account.
I hovered over the link link and the URL was "egoldq.com".